‹ Back to News & articles

Moving towards a partnership with Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Millennium Technology Prize has started cooperation with Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. The two organizations have signed a Letter of Intent with the aim of moving towards a formal partnership in the future.

Partnering with almost all the universities in Finland, the Millennium Technology Prize has established its first official cooperation with an international university. Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) is frequently ranked within the world’s top 30 universities according to most major international rankings and was ranked first in the 2024 Times Higher Education Young University Ranking.

”The Millennium Technology Prize calls for nominations from all parts of the world. It is therefore important that the Prize has a strong linkage across the globe to Singapore, and we are happy to strengthen our academic network in Southeast Asia with a world-class university like NTU”, said Markku Ellilä, CEO at Technology Academy Finland, the foundation awarding the Millennium Technology Prize.

The Millennium Technology Prize and NTU Singapore share the core value of supporting education, innovation and business, which bring benefits to all of humankind and the planet. Both organizations are highly committed to sustainability as one of the driving forces in their work and want to strengthen this emphasis further through cooperation.

Professor Lee Pooi See, Vice President (International Engagement) at NTU Singapore said, “We are delighted to partner with Technology Academy Finland for the Millennium Technology Prize as it strongly aligns with our mission to advance technological excellence and create impactful innovation to benefit society. The global reach of the Prize, with its focus on diversity, inclusivity and sustainability, represents the values that we also stand for at NTU Singapore.”

Photo: The Hive at NTU Singapore. Credit: NTU Singapore.

Partners of the Millennium Technology Prize